Labyrinth of a Smiling Heart

A Smiling Heart Path

I think all labyrinths have a smiling heart somewhere when they are designed. We don’t always see it til after the fact sometimes, though it’s there. I like to imagine that it’s there because it has purpose and if people with purpose are fulfilling contribution in this world, then without the obvious in emotionality, why not feel the embrace of the smile in every walk?

I enjoyed the whimsy in today’s walk as it’s good to find the amusement in the everyday, it helps balance the oh so serious days. This image of the “Smiling Labyrinth” reminded me of that whimsy…and ha ha with heart!  It’s that little curly cue in the center that gets me.

I wrote a book on the Smile a few years ago and recently re edited it with my daughter as the basis for the smile. She has a smile in her soul and such animation that there was no shortage of laughter and wonderful feelings in our photo shoot. I know that when I finally republish it, that this was the right path for me to follow. It had heart and love all wrapped up in the variety of smiles we created and what I essentially wrote about was the how and why of the valuable nature of the smile with some practical applications.

It is the little things like someone sending you a simple email that says “Good Morning”, and how another can hear your smile over the phone that reminds us of the simple things that make a difference.

I had a chance to create a smiling labyrinth at a conference one year and what an effect it had on the participants.  One of the walks we did was just to increase the awareness of your smile with each turn inward and then receive it from others you meet on the path as you exit.

May we all have a little smile today and receive one back…

Putting some smiles in my miles,

Lynda

Categories: The Daily Walk | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

