Day Two… In step with family

We are playing… The 12 Days of Labyrinths Game
12DaysOfLabyrinthsPlay along in December, any 12 days or just make it last all month. Today’s post moves beyond the simple preparations into the action of the game itself. Read The Game and How to Play in the link below to follow along. Then send along comments of your experience. 
The Game and How to Play
Preparations…12 Things that Matter
Preparations…12 Gifts, Talents or Abilities
Preparations…12 People of Influence
Day One


One note to remember is that you have all of December to play your 12 Days, so feel free to take your time and let the messages sit with you. It is a time when we all seem to put more time in to get more time off and in the end we are so tired that we don’t really get to spend the earned time enjoying it. Irony abounds! 

Today as I was doing some little extras for my Mom, I cleaned and dusted her rooms and had to move all the photos from the piano and shelves. She has us all there perched like prize possessions and while she used to have scads of photos in what seemed every vacant corner, she has become happily more minimalized, preferring to carry some of the memories in her heart. As she forgets things, it is a comfort to know we are there with her.

CordsAs I pulled out a box of chords I looked over at the empty space on the floor and soon the chords were connecting to form a labyrinth. Down came the pictures and as I put them around on top of the chords, I looked around for other things and found some favorite glasses of my father in law whose been gone 10 years now, though the glasses remain to keep an eye on us I think. I found little notes, cards and things that represented my family back in Chicago.

IMG_2922I missed them for Thanksgiving and will for the Christmas Holidays as I spend some time with Mom. The floor was suddenly shaping up into a circle of family surrounding meIMG_2032

I sat in the center for a time with my kids photos closest and meditated feeling everyone happily connecting from afar. It was as if I touched them all in this way and then I got up to walk. Family came to mind on my list of what mattered as natural and easy.

PicMemories2As I walked Mom came to mind as the person of influence because at the core of this challenging changeable year, she has become a sort of home all over again. I came out to be with her and somehow the tables have turned and she is with me. We are laughing and finding the fun, the amazement of each other and the heart in who we are in deeper connection. What a gift this time has been and when I thought of my abilities that made this possible, it was leadership.

PictureMemories_LabyrinthShe was the one who gave me a ticket to a class and thought I should go. She always said that I took one little ticket and made so much more out of it that she couldn’t be prouder and knew I had found a calling. I think that is the thing for Mothers, to see their children passionate about life and living purposefully in it, no matter what comes their way. It is a year of challenge, though the truth is walking through the challenges in a particular kind of way that makes all the difference.

IMG_3977My Mother had taken some of the leadership classes with me and in one particular outdoor experience, it made me smile all through my inside to see her climb a fifty foot telephone pole. She didn’t have to get to the top, just watching her was inspiring. She hadn’t wanted to go earlier in the morning and the staff made me leave her to her own experience, so watching her determination later is probably what moves me through anything. It is like my mind is unwinding and finding all these wonderful memories and reasonings spiraling into meaning that is much more profound looking at it now.

 

I saved the labyrinth and when Mom woke up, had her take a walk with me. She just thought it was the best gift ever and well, l found tears are truly a sign of communication that speak volumes.

Family + the authentic leader within + Mom = Pricelessness

I do hope you are all having such wonderful moving experiences, as I put this out to stimulate our members and I find I am receiving the most benefit it seems. 

Categories: The Daily Walk | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

